About Thresher Shark Champion

Thresher Shark Conservation Champion is a youth development program to support conservation efforts in the coastal area of Alor. 20 Alor youths will be chosen through an open selection process between the age of 18-25 years old. These youths came from all around Alor archipelago, East Nusa Tenggara, and will receive training on leadership, communication, and knowledge on marine conservation.

Since 2018, Thresher Shark Indonesia participates in the Thresher Shark conservation effort in Alor. However, the efforts of marine conservation cannot be done by itself. There is a need for collaboration with every part of the community, especially the active involvement of young people.

Therefore, in the year 2020 Thresher Shark Indonesia calls upon the youths of Alor through Thresher Shark Conservation Champion, manifesting the future of Alor’s marine ecosystem.

The Thresher Shark Conservation Champion program is supported by the Australian Government through the Alumni Grant Scheme administered by Australia Awards in Indonesia, East-West Center, Sustainable Ocean Alliance – Ocean Solution Microgrant, and Shark Conservation Fund. This program will start in January and Champions will be inaugurated in March of 2021. After the completion of program, Champions expected to lead efforts on conservation project through the small grant provided by the Thresher Shark Champion Program

Mentors will work alongside Champions to ensure that they could optimize the chance of learning, and achieve effective project outcomes.

Would you like to see change and be a part of the transformation of Alor’s environment?


Solving Plastic Issues, this is what Conservation Leaders do

The increasing number of organic and inorganic waste in Alor District become a serious issue which attract the attention of many stakeholders, including government and conservation organization. This concern has stroke the team from Thresher Shark Champion - a group consisting of five young indigenous leaders to take action to solve that. The group, together…

Together with Village Communities, Thresher Shark Champion stopping coastal sand mining

Thresher Shark Indonesia recently created four groups consist of young indigenous leaders through Thresher Shark Conservation Champion. The groups have a mission to initiate conservation projects to address marine issues in four villages around Alor District. According to one of the group, Manta Ray, who is currently conducting their project in Alila Village, the group…

Thresher Shark Champion Program: Awarded by the Australian Government

Thresher Shark Indonesia awarded by Australia Grant Scheme, funding from the Australian Government. The project aims to train 20 young indigenous leaders in marine conservation. "This project will run parallel with our ongoing conservation program, which is assisting the local government and local communities in developing the local regulation. Once the local regulation is established,…

Mentor & Champion


Bobby Dwi Kusuma Mentor Thresher Shark Champion

Geanisa Vianda Putri Mentor Thresher Shark Champion

Dea Hasna Isadora Mentor Thresher Shark Champion

Putra Malik Akbar Mentor Thresher Shark Champion


Udin Abue Alor Barat Laut

Hilarius Kamaleng Alor Barat Daya

Kamarudin Lelang Alor Barat Laut

Ayub Laan Bain Teluk Mutiara, Kalabahi

Sri Wulandari Teibang Ampera, Alor Barat Laut

Muthia Prasong Teluk Mutiara

Lekison Padafani Alor Tengah Utara

Najamudin Usman Lewalu, Alor Barat Laut

Krisnasari Laapuling Tanjung Sembilan

Jamaludin B. Demang Alila Timur

Yemima Henderina Maalo Teluk Mutiara, Kalabahi

Arif Agung B. Sanga Kikilai

Amri Bali Ampera, Alor Barat Laut

Raytno A. L. Koi Teluk Mutiara, Kalabahi

Fransista Yulinda Ahalfani Kelapa Lima

Irwan Langko Kokar

Endang Syaban Lewalu, Alor Barat Laut

Markus A. Beri Pantar

Yordhikson M. Bang Teluk Mutiara, Kalabahi

Cornelis Banabera Wolatang, Kalabahi